See Life at SEA LIFE

I’m an animal addict so naturally when the SEA LIFE aquarium moved in at Legoland in Carlsbad I was dying to go.  Life is busy so it wasn’t until yesterday that we made the trip.  My mom, friend Christine, Christine’s 18-month-old Gwen and I took advantage of the rainy day to go look at the fishies.

We had a great time.  The facility is state-of-the-art and takes about 45 minutes to walk through.  What stood out to me is that along with the fish, there were aquarium staff throughout that greeted guests, answered questions and provided informational tidbits about the animals. 

The exhibits were large and in many cases the glass was bowed in a way that allowed for magnification of the fish.  Many exhibits also offered different vantage points from which to view the fish – including the center of the tank.  Baby Gwen got a kick out of that one.

I don’t have children of my own, but have the maturity of a 12-year-old when it comes to places like this, and also get the opportunity to play with my friend’s children, like Gwen.  I must say this is hands down the most kid-friendly aquarium I’ve ever seen.  It has Lego models in the tanks, interactive quizzes, a slide and more.  Lots of fun.

What Gwen and I enjoyed the most were the touch pools where you could actually pick up a starfish and feel the squishy body of a sea cucumber. 

Aside from the colorful fish, the aquarium was filled with sharks, all sorts of beautiful rays, the biggest lobster I’ve ever seen, an octopus and delicate seahorses.  Just mesmerizing. 

Prior to going, my friend Liz told me that the cafe at the aquarium has world-class mac n’ cheese.  Not one to pass up a tip like that, Christine, Gwen and I all had it and she was right.  Really good.  Don’t miss it.

The aquarium is a really fun way to spend an afternoon – with or without kids.  It is fairly inexpensive to attend – less than $20 for adults and children. 

Tip: if you only go to the aquarium, save your receipt and they will refund about half of the parking cost at the guest services window.

Note: I don’t know any of the children in these photos, but I found the pictures online so I assume their parents are cool with it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Activities, Eats, Entertainment, Family, Restaurants, Sights

Leave a Reply

