Kitchen Sink Dinner: Turkaroni

We’ve all sat and stared at our cupboards and thought – how can I make dinner out of any of this, right?  Same problem occurred yesterday in my house. 

This is what I had to work with:

  • turkey burgers (frozen)
  • boxed macaroni and cheese
  • yellow or white onion
  • fresh chives
  • half a green pepper

Scott eating leftover turkaroni out of the pot.

There were a few other things but this stuff seemed to have potential.  So here you go – Turkaroni.  Not sure how this would turn out, I gave it a shot, and am I ever glad I did.  It was completely delicious and turned into the husband’s top five dishes that I’ve made for him.  Guess I don’t have to try so hard in the future. 

Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of macaroni and cheese
  • 2 frozen turkey burgers
  • 1/2 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1/4 cup fresh chives chopped (could be substituted with dried – use less if dried)
  • 1/3 cup chopped onions
  • dash of italian seasonings (to taste)
  • dash of garlic salt (to taste)

Directions: in pan, chop up and brown turkey burgers into traditional ground turkey form.  Add onions into pan and mix.  Once turkey is browned, add bell peppers, garlic salt and Italian seasoning.  Simultaneously, cook box of macaroni and cheese per directions on box.  Add turkey mixture to macaroni and cheese and stir.  Cook on low for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.   Makes 2 adult servings.

I never promised anything fancy – or healthy – but it tastes damn good.  Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Eats, Family

4 responses to “Kitchen Sink Dinner: Turkaroni

  1. Lesley

    Thanks for posting this – I’ll definitely have to try it out soon! Scott looks happy… or, focused. And I love that this makes 2 servings. Sometimes I will follow a Cooking Light recipe that claims it serves 8 and after Jason and I eat dinner, I barely have enough for leftovers the next day. Perhaps I just eat to much.

  2. We used to eat this all the time while I was growing up. We called it Macaroni and Cheese Caserole. Back then we used ground beef, onion, green pepper, milk/cheese packet/butter like the mix requires, and lots of fresh ground pepper. Nowadays if I make it I use ground turkey and organic mac & cheese but it’s still really, really good. Yummy yummy yummy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

