People Do Care About What You Ate for Lunch

Years back, before the social media revolution was in full force, I accidentally fell upon an interesting experiment.  I was a relatively new cycling instructor and didn’t know my students on a first-name-basis like I do now.  In between drills, I mentioned that I ate a piece of chocolate cake before coming to class.  And guess what happened … after class I had more students come up and talk to me than ever before.

Intrigued by this concept, I would sprinkle in food-related topics or other surfacy information about my life while teaching and my student feedback during and after class doubled.

Fast-forward to the social media era, where skeptics over-use and abuse the expression “I don’t care what my friend ate for lunch,” as their primary reason for not jumping into the social media mix.  I’m here to call out a resounding BS.

In fact, prior to dreaming up this post, Saturday morning I wrote this in my Facebook status:

“Mmmmmm … Nothing says breakfast like leftover German chocolate cake.”

Seven comments, one phone call and three “likes” later, I’m here to tell you that people do care.

Whether a brand or a person representing his or her own brand, people want to connect with other people.  They appreciate people who talk to them, not at them; and who share tidbits about their lives making them real.

Social media is a fantastic way to exchange professional information, share tips, deals and tricks, and also to network.  But in “real life,” aren’t you more prone to give your business to the person that tells you about his or her children, summer vacation or latest bargain buy as he or she sells you the product or provides the service?

The same goes for social media.  Balance is key.  Like food, don’t over-indulge sharing every explicit detail of your personal life, but lob out information here and there that people can relate to, sit back and enjoy the ride.

Leave a comment

Filed under Business, Etiquette, Facebook, Resources, Thoughts, WebWorld

Leave a Reply

