Back in Phoenix

Any one that knows me, knows that I am an SDSU Aztec through and through.  I spent five (for shame) of the best years of my life at that school getting my under-grad degree in communications. 

What many people don’t know is that in addition to being an Aztec, “I am a Phoenix.”  I got my MBA in marketing through University of Phoenix a few years back … and what a tremendous experience it was?!

Over the last six months I made a new friend named Molly who is also a Phoenix … but even more so than me – she got her MBA through University of Phoenix and is also a professor there.  She recommended me to be a teacher as well.

Figuring I had nothing to lose, I sent in my application and went through the 4 1/2 hour interview process … and they accepted me.  Next thing you know I’m in a four-week faculty certification course, and assuming I pass that I’ll move on to a mentorship, or student-teaching program. 

This isn’t something I will do in lieu of my day job … this will be a supplement to it.  The don’t hire any one who isn’t working in the field that they will be teaching.  I will only teach one marketing, business or communications night class each week. 

My fingers are crossed that it all goes well. (Cross yours too for me, if you don’t mind.)

I had no idea what I was in for when I submitted my application, but every step – even the interview – has been great fun.  It reminds me of being back in my MBA program.  So it is fair to say that I am happy to be back in Phoenix.

2 Comments

Filed under Activities, Business, Education, Resources

2 responses to “Back in Phoenix

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Back in Phoenix « Confessions of a (Type) A -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Places To Donate Blood in Phoenix, Arizona | | Top Online ResourcesTop Online Resources

Leave a Reply

