Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon in Passing

We just got back from the Santa Ynez valley where we participated in a fantastic event – the Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon. Just like in any race, there was a lot of passing … people passing me by and me even passing a few of them.

Other notable passes were:

  • Running from Santa Ynez through the quaint town of Los Olivos and finishing in the darling town of Solvang.
  • At mile one we passed a horse running with its pony so close to its side they appeared to be in formation.
  • At mile 6, Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ on a Prayer” passed through my iPod and gave me the added juice needed to do another 7 miles.
  • At mile 11, Team Megan cruised by me.  How did I know? Their shirts said so.  And Megan was the one in the white sweat band with the make-shift vail.  I assume her team were brides maids and friends.  Cute idea.
  • We passed through rolling hills of grapevines and a few wineries that went a long with them.
  • At mile 13.1, we passed through the finish line right on Copenhagen Square in Solvang.
  • We then watched my aunt Brandi pass through the finish line like a champ, completing her first half marathon.

Probably the best of all was when Scott and I passed our goals by.  Now I guess we have to create more.

Because we have such an affinity for the Santa Ynez valley, this week’s postings will be dedicated to various places in that region.

3 Comments

Filed under Activities, Animals, Entertainment, Family, General, Sights, Travel

3 responses to “Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon in Passing

  1. Had an amazing time with you and Scott in SYV. It was special sharing a significant moment in my life with you both. I’m proud of us. I’m enjoying this goal setting thing.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Santa Barbara Wine Country Half Marathon in Passing « Confessions of a (Type) A -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

