Soccer Buzz Courtesy of the Vuvuzela

I’m not gonna sugar coat this … I’m a typical American pretty uninterested in soccer.  Scott, on the other hand, is very excited about the World Cup.  Every morning it is on TV in our house and frankly, it just annoys me.

I am not annoyed because Scott is watching it, but because the entire time it sounds like the game is being ambushed by an over-sized swarm of bees.  What is that noise?  I come to find out that it is the Vuvuzela.

A vuvuzela is a 2 foot plastic horn that emits a 127 decibel monotone buzzing sound.  It is most commonly used at soccer games in South Africa, hence the prevalence of the noise at the 2010 World Cup.

Well, today I am happy to announce that I am not the only one annoyed by this “buzz.”  According to this article on Mashable.com, the vuvuzela is capturing the attention of the chatterboxes on the internet … and not in a good way.

Read the full story here:

The Vuvuzela By the Numbers [INFOGRAPHIC].

4 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, Sports, Thoughts, WebWorld

4 responses to “Soccer Buzz Courtesy of the Vuvuzela

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Soccer Buzz Courtesy of the Vuvuzela « Confessions of a (Type) A -- Topsy.com

  3. Debbie

    I love these confessions. I learned about a new instrument today.

Leave a Reply

